Other Articles

Call For Nominations 2011 Meeto Memorial Award

ANHAD (Act Now for Harmony and Democracy) and Sangat, a South Asian feminist network, are now (...)

4th Meeto Memorial Award Function in Nepal held on 23 September 2012

Excerpt from A Letter by Kamla Bhasin October 2, 2012 Loving greetings!! On 23rd September we (...)

Invitation for Celebration of South Asian Solidarity in Dhaka, 30 November 2013

Invitation for Celebration of South Asian Solidarity in Dhaka, 30 November 2013 Meeto Memorial (...)

Call for Nominations for the 2012 Meeto Memorial Award

ANHAD (Act Now for Harmony and Democracy) and Sangat, a South Asian feminist network, are now inviting nominations for the Meeto Memorial Award for the year 2012. Please read the following before you send nomination/s:

About Meeto

Meeto (Kamaljit Bhasin-Malik; 1978-2006) was a scholar, activist and dancer. She graduated with first class honours in History from Stephen’s College. With the Radhakrishnan-British Chevening Scholarship, she studied History in Oxford University and graduated with a first class honours. Meeto’s pre-doctoral research at Oxford was tragically interrupted by her passing away in 2006. Her work In the Making Identity Formation in South Asia is published by the Three Essays Collective.

Meeto researched and wrote on projects ranging from the refugee problem in post-Partition Punjab to the role of parliamentarians in Indian democracy and the role of the colonial census in creating monolithic identities in Sri Lanka.

Meeto also was the first primary coordinator of SAHR (South Asians for Human Rights) and helped organize the first general convention of SAHR in Rajasthan. Between 2003 and mid-2004, she worked as a programme associate at the Ford Foundation in Delhi working on human rights and development issues.

As a dancer, Meeto performed with Leela Samson’s dance production Spanda across India and in Bangladesh.

Meeto’s academic and professional interests were at one with the way she lived. She revelled in the aesthetic traditions of the multiple religious and cultural traditions to which she was an heir as a South Asian citizen.

The Award

In 2009, Kamla Bhasin, Meeto’s mother, instituted an award in Meeto’s memory to honour young South Asians whose work demonstrates a commitment to communal harmony, peace, justice and human rights.

Meeto memorial Awardees


Azra Jafri (from Afghanistan), she is Afghanistan’s first and only woman mayor. You may read more about her work at the following link http://www.meetomemorialaward.org/article30.html
to view pictures of the event, click here


Akeela Naz (from Pakistan) the persona behind the ‘Thapa force’, an army of protesting women farmers, to read more about her work, click the following link
to view pictures of the event please click here


Anusheh Anadil (from Bangladesh) and Laxmi Ben Vankar (from India). You can read about them and their work on http://www.meetomemorialaward.org/article10.html
to view pictures of the event please click here http://sangatsouthasia.org/photogallery/meeto-memorial-award-2009

The Award comprises of Indian Rupees one lakh, a citation and a memento. If more than one person is selected, the money will be shared. The recipients will be invited to present their work at the award ceremony. The Award will be announced in October every year. The recipients of the Award will be chosen by a selection committee whose decision will be final.

To be eligible, nominees must be:

  • Under the age of 40
  • Citizens of a South Asian country (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka)
  • Working on issues of communal harmony, peace, justice and/or human rights, broadly conceived; the nominee may be working anywhere in the world, but the focus of the work should be on South Asia as defined above
  • Working in any capacity in the field of activism, advocacy, academia, and journalism, and in any medium such as writing, art, dance, music, film, and theatre.

Individuals can nominate themselves or other eligible people.

Nominations must be sent in writing, and accompanied by a detailed CV of the nominated person, a note on reasons for nomination and a duly filled form [rouge][see attached document below][/rouge]

Nominations must be received before 30 June 2012 and should be sent to:

Email : contact@meetomemorialaward.org

or be posted at

Meeto Memorial Award Secretariat


23, Caning Lane, New Delhi 110001 (India)

The nominations will be judged by the Advisory Committee of the Meeto Memorial Award which comprises the following individuals:

Asma Jahangir, Pakistan
Hameeda Hossain, Bangladesh
Sithie Tiruchelvam, Sri Lanka
Syeda Hameed, India
Sadanand Menon, India
Anusha Lall, India
Rahul Rao, India/UK
Kamla Bhasin, India

PDF - 75.7 kb
Nomination Form 2012 Meeto memorial Award for Young South Asians

Thursday 3 May 2012